Disappointed with Canon

I posted previously about my “Cannot communicate with battery” issue on my Canon 7D which I had sent back to Canon to be fixed. My camera is 2 years old now, so I was curious if Canon would stand behind a defective product depsite it being out of warranty. Well, I finally received my Canon 7D back from the Canon Service Center working as normal. The process was pretty fast and efficient which is the good part. The disappointing part about this that I had to pay over $200 to have it fixed. This issue is pretty widespread on this camera which you can see if you do some searches on the error message. This would definitely indicate an issue with this model camera and not something caused by my carelessness. I would think that a reputable company would own up to this problem and cover the cost or partial cost even. But no. I was a pretty loyal Canon customer before, but this leaves a bad taste in my mouth and would cause me to think twice before recommending them to anybody. I am even wondering would I buy another ~$2000 camera from them again. Time will tell I guess.

Leave a Reply

